Scientific Council

AREPO is supported in its work by a “Scientific Council”, a collegial consultative body composed of experts from universities and research centres of its member regions, aiming to develop cooperation between the research world and AREPO’s member regions and producers.


In order to achieve its goals concerning defense, development and promotion of GIs and other EU quality schemes, AREPO, together with its member regions and its producers, bases its actions on political considerations supported by scientific and technical data.

For this reason, in 2017, AREPO, in collaboration with the European Research Group on Localised AgriFood Systems (ERG SYAL), started building a scientific network aiming at creating an internal exchange and platform for discussion between the research world and AREPO member regions and producers.


The activities of AREPO Scientific Council on Localized AgriFood Systems (LAFS) and EU quality schemes aim at :

  • developing common actions on education, socio-economic analysis, and exchange of good-practices concerning rural and territorial development;
  • building common positions and actions with the support of scientific information produced by the experts participating in the Scientific Council;
  • defining together questions and research needs concerning LAFS, GIs and other EU quality schemes;
  • strengthening the European research and innovation policy in favor of LAFS, GIs and other EU quality schemes;
  • increasing support and funding at EU level on education and training programmes on GIs and other EU quality schemes.


AREPO Scientific Council is currently composed of the following researchers:


  • Mr. Giovanni BELLETTI | Università degli Studi di Firenze (UniFI), Italy


  • Ms. Encarna AGUILAR | Universidad de Sevilla (US), Spain
  • Mr. Filippo ARFINI* | Università di Parma (Unipr), Italy
  • Mr. Olivier BEUCHERIE* | Ecole Supérieure d’Agricultures d’Angers (ESA d’Angers), France
  • Ms. Anna CARBONE | Università degli Studi della Tuscia (UNITUS), Italy
  • Mr. François CASABIANCA* | Institut National de Recherche pour l’Agriculture, l’Alimentation et l’Environnement (INRAE), France
  • Ms. Claire CERDAN* | Centre de coopération Internationale en Recherche Agronomique pour le Développement (CIRAD), France
  • Mr. Tobias CHILLA | Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU), Germany
  • Mr. Alessandro CORSI | Università di Torino (Unito), Italy
  • Mr. Bernardo DE GENARO | Università degli Studi di Bari Aldo Moro (UniBa), Italy
  • Mr. Marcello DE ROSA | Università degli studi di Cassino e del Lazio Meridionale (Unicas), Italy
  • Ms. Edi DEFRANCESCO | Università degli studi di Padova (Unipd), Italy
  • Ms. Claire DURAND | Ecole Supérieure d’Agro-Développement International (ISTOM), France
  • Mr. Julien FRAYSSIGNES | Ecole d’Ingénieurs de PURPAN (PURPAN), France
  • Mr. Chema GIL | Centro de Investigación en Economía y Desarrollo Agroalimentario (CREDA-UPC-IRTA), Spain
  • Mr. Wolfgang HEISRATH | Intellectual property attorney at KLEINER Rechtsanwälte Stuttgart Düsseldorf, Germany
  • Mr. Andrea MARESCOTTI | Università degli Studi di Firenze (UniFI), Italy
  • Mr. Kostadinos MATTAS | Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (Auth), Greece
  • Ms. Luisa MENAPACE Technical | Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (LMU München), Germany
  • Mr. Philippe MONGONDRY* | Ecole Supérieure d’Agricultures d’Angers (ESA d’Angers), France
  • Ms. Marianne PENKER | Universität für Bodenkultur Wien (BOKU), Austria
  • Mr. Pietro PULINA | Università degli Studi di Sassari (UNISS), Italy
  • Mr. Javier SANZ | Instituto de Economía, Geografía y Demografía (IEGD-CSIC), Spain
  • Mr. Denis SAUTIER* | Centre de coopération Internationale en Recherche Agronomique pour le Développement (CIRAD), France | Université de Montpellier (UM), France
  • Ms. Katrin ZANDER | Universität Kassel (Uni Kassel), Germany

*Researchers with an asterisk at the end of their name are part of the Scientific Committee within the Council. The Scientific Committee acts as a coordinating or steering body for the Scientific Council, composed of experts identified and invited by AREPO.

Please note: experts participate on a voluntary basis and on their own behalf. They do not represent the position of their organisation of origin, which might later be associated as an AREPO associate member.


In order to strengthen the role of the Scientific Council and ensure its effectiveness, AREPO would like to expand the participation of experts and improve the geographical coverage. The ambition in the medium term would be to have at least one member from each of AREPO member regions, without excluding competent experts from other European regions.